Who will win the Open? Golf Direct put forward some suggestions..

0 comment
Golf Direct have put forward our suggestions of who we think may win the 2012 Open. Here is some information of the players and our forecast of who will win.

The 2012 British Open will start on the July 19th at the Royal Lytham and St. Anne’s Golf Course in Lancashire. All the best golfers from around the world will be in search of the third Grand Slam title of the year. Here at Golf Direct we have debated the possible results of this year’s Open and have listed some background information to help you reach your own comclusions.

2012 British Open
2012 British Open Dates – Thursday July 19th – Sunday July 22nd 2012
2012 British Open Location – Royal Lytham & St. Anne’s Golf Course, Lancashire
Defending Champion – Darren Clarke
2012 British Open TV Coverage – BBC TV / Radio 5 Live / Online
2012 British Open Official Website – www.theopen.com
2012 Winner Prediction – Tiger Woods

Could it be another Northern Irish winner this year. We have Graham McDowell on a high after his 2nd place in the US Open and Rory McIlroy coming back into form although we haven’t seen a whole lot of McIlroy on the PGA Tour this year either, and he really struggled at the first two majors this year, finishing at 5 over at the Masters and well down the list and 10 over par in two rounds in the US Open missing the cut. Nevertheless we still think he will put in a good showing this year at the Open.
tiger-wood-2012-att.jpgWe are however going to go with the a Tiger win for this years Open. He is a three time winner this year and after poor performances in the first tow major he will be keen to prove he’s back. You have to go back to 2005 and 2006 to find the last two times that Tiger was able to win the British Open, and since then, he has two PGA Championships and a US Open to his credit. Woods didn’t play at the Open Championship last year, and he doesn’t have a Top 10 finish since winning this event in 2005 and 2006. Woods is still on 14 majors and would love to increase that to 15 this year to get closer to the greatest ever Jack Nicklaus with 18 majors.

We must mention another man in form, Webb Simpson. Simpson has been very consistant over the last year and having been continually knocking on the door he finally won the year’s US Open. He has five top 10 finishes this year, which is just as many as anyone in the game, and he has three titles under his belt since August of last year. Simpson is most certainly a threat to win his second major of the year. Lastly we would love to see a Lee Westwood win. He is in great form this year let’s hope that he can come up with something special and take this years Open Championship.

List Of Past 12 British Open Winners
2011 – Darren Clarke
2010 – Louis Oosthuizen
2009 – Stewart Cink
2008 – Padraig Harrington
2007 – Padraig Harrington
2006 – Tiger Woods
2005 – Tiger Woods
2004 – Todd Hamilton
2003 – Ben Curtis
2002 – Ernie Els
2001 – David Duval
2000 – Tiger Woods

Just for you information here is a list of the players with their betting odds at 12th July 2012.

Tiger Woods 6/1
Lee Westwood 12/1
Rory McIlroy 14/1
Luke Donald 16/1
Padraig Harrington 16/1
Justin Rose 25/1
Sergio Garcia 25/1
Dustin Johnson 33/1
Graeme McDowell 33/1
Martin Kaymer 33/1
Phil Mickelson 33/1
Rickie Fowler 35/1
Adam Scott 40/1
Ernie Els 40/1
Hunter Mahan 40/1
Ian Poulter 40/1
Jason Dufner 40/1
Jim Furyk 40/1
Louis Oosthuizen 40/1
Matt Kuchar 40/1
Steve Stricker 40/1
Bubba Watson 50/1
Charl Schwartzel 50/1
Francesco Molinari 50/1
Jason Day 50/1
K.J. Choi 66/1
Nick Watney 66/1
Nicolas Colsaerts 66/1
Peter Hanson 66/1
Ross Fisher 66/1
Alexander Noren 80/1
Fredrik Jacobson 80/1
Henrik Stenson 80/1
Matteo Manassero 80/1
Retief Goosen 80/1
Thomas Bjorn 80/1
Zach Johnson 80/1
Angel Cabrera 100/1
Bill Haas 100/1
George Coetzee 100/1
Jamie Donaldson 100/1
Martin Laird 100/1
Paul Casey 100/1
Rafael Cabrera Bello 100/1
Robert Karlsson 100/1
Simon Dyson 100/1
Tom Lewis 100/1
Aaron Baddeley 125/1
Anders Romero 125/1
Anthony Kim 125/1
Brandt Snedeker 125/1
Carl Pettersson 125/1
Darren Clarke 125/1
Davis Love III 125/1
Gary Woodland 125/1
Geoff Ogilvy 125/1
Michael Hoey 125/1
Miguel Angel Jimenez 125/1
Ryan Moore 125/1
Sean O’Hair 125/1
Stewart Cink 125/1
Alvaro Quiros 150/1
Chad Campbell 150/1
Edoardo Molinari 150/1
Robert Rock 150/1
Ryo Ishikawa 150/1
Y.E. Yang 150/1
Harris English 200/1
Lucas Glover 200/1
Richie Ramsay 200/1
Robert Allenby 200/1
Sang-Moon Bae 200/1
Alejandro Canizares 250/1
James Morrison 250/1
Justin Leonard 250/1
Tom Watson 250/1
Matthew Baldwin 300/1
Richard Finch 300/1


Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *