Ryder Cup Golf Sale from Golf Direct UK

Ryder Cup Golf Sale Now On

0 comment

We are all looking forward to the Ryder Cup which starts on 25th September 2012. Soon all the talking will be over and the matches will begin. Here at Golf Direct we are keeping you up to date with all the latest Ryder Cup news, we have our new Golfers Blog by David Bridges and we are offering some fantastic bargains on our Ryder Cup Golf Sale.

Lates News
McDowell reflects on epic 2010. Whether you were there to witness it, or were among the millions of fans who watched it on television, no-one will ever forget Graeme McDowell’s epic singles victory over Hunter Mahan.

Golfer Blog by David Briges
A golfer’s view on the Ryder Cup

Follow the Ryder Cup
Team Europe

Follow the Ryder Cup
Team USA

Ryder Cup Golf Sale
See the latest offers in the Golf Direct Golf Sale

Ryder Cup Golf Sale from Golf Direct UK

Ryder Cup History
There were two unofficial matches between professionals from Great Britain and the United States before the birth of The Ryder Cup in 1927, both won by the British.

The first was played at Gleneagles in 1921 but the second of these, held at Wentworth in 1926, was undoubtedly the most significant for among those in the gallery was a man called Samuel Ryder.
Ryder was an English seed merchant and entrepreneur from St Albans in Hertfordshire who made his money selling penny seed packets. He had taken up golf relatively late in life to improve his health and employed Abe Mitchell, one of the golfing greats of his era, as his personal tutor.
Ryder was enthralled by the match at Wentworth, and particularly delighted to see Mitchell team up with George Duncan to defeat the defending Open Champion Jim Barnes and the great Walter Hagen. ‘We must do this again’, said Ryder in the bar afterwards and The Ryder Cup was born.
Ryder donated a small but striking gold cup that today epitomises all that is good in sporting competition. It cost £250 and the small golfing figure atop the cup, as requested by the donor, stands as a lasting memorial to Abe Mitchell.
The first 22 Ryder Cup matches pitched Great Britain and Ireland against the United States, with the US winning 18, GB and Ireland three and one match, the famous 1969 contest, tied.
In 1979, Europe entered the fray, with Seve Ballesteros and Antonio Garrido becoming the first continental golfers to play in The Ryder Cup. In the subsequent 16 matches, Europe have won eight, the United States seven, with one match tied.
The Ryder Cup has become one of the world’s greatest sporting contests as every two years 24 of the best players from Europe and the United States go head-to-head in match play competition. Drama, tension, incredible golf, camaraderie and sportsmanship are served in equal measure, captivating an audience of millions around the world. It’s an event that transcends sport, yet remains true to the spirit of its founder, Samuel Ryder.

Year Venue USA Eur/GB/GBI Winners
2010 The Celtic Manor Resort 13 ½ 14 ½ Europe
City of Newport, Wales
2008 Valhalla Golf Club 16 ½ 11 ½ USA
Louisville, Kentucky
2006 The K Club 9 ½ 18 ½ Europe
Co. Kildare, Ireland
2004 Oakland Hills CC 9 ½ 18 ½ Europe
Bloomfield Township, MI, USA
2002 The Belfry 12 ½ 15 ½ Europe
Sutton Coldfield, England
1999 The Country Club 14 ½ 13 ½ USA
Brookline, MI, USA
1997 Valderrama GC 13 ½ 14 ½ Europe
Sotogrande, Spain
1995 Oak Hill CC 13 ½ 14 ½ Europe
Rochester, NY, USA
1993 The Belfry 15 13 USA
Sutton Coldfield, England
1991 The Ocean Course 14 ½ 13 ½ USA
Kiawah Island, SC, USA
1989 The Belfry 14 14 Tied
Sutton Coldfield, England
1987 Muirfield Village GC 13 15 Europe
Dublin, OH, USA
1985 The Belfry 11 ½ 16 ½ Europe
Sutton Coldfield, England
1983 PGA National GC 14 ½ 13 ½ USA
Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA
1981 Walton Heath GC 18 ½ 9 ½ USA
Surrey, England
1979 The Greenbrier 17 11 USA
White Sulfer Springs, WV, USA
1977 Royal Lytham & St Annes 12 ½ USA
St Annes, England
1975 Laurel Valley GC 21 11 USA
Ligonier, PA, USA
1973 Muirfield 19 13 USA
Edinburgh, Scotland
1971 Old Warson CC 18 ½ 13 ½ USA
St Louis, MO, USA
1969 Royal Birkdale GC 16 16 Tied
Southport, England
1967 Champions GC 23 ½ 8 ½ USA
Houston, Texas, USA
1965 Royal Birkdale GC 19 ½ 12 ½ USA
Southport, England
1963 East Lake CC 23 9 USA
Atlanta, GA, USA
1961 Royal Lytham & St Anne’s 14 ½ 9 ½ USA
St Annes, England
1959 Eldorado CC 8 ½ 3 ½ USA
Palm Desert, CA, USA
1957 Lindrick GC 4 ½ 7 ½ GB&I
Yorkshire, England
1955 Thunderbird CC 8 4 USA
Palm Springs, CA, USA
1953 Wentworth GC 6 ½ 5 ½ USA
Surrey, England
1951 Pinehurst GC 9 ½ 2 ½ USA
Pinehurst, NC, USA
1949 Ganton GC 7 5
Scarborough, England USA
1947 Portland GC 11 1
Portland, OR, USA USA
1937 Southport & Ainsdale GC 8 4 USA
Southport, England
1935 Ridgewood CC 9 3 USA
Ridgewood, NJ, USA
1933 Southport & Ainsdale GC 5 ½ 6 ½ GB&I
Southport, England
1931 Scioto CC 9 3 USA
Columbus, OH, USA
1929 Moortown GC 5 7 GB&I
Leeds, England
1927 Worcester CC 9 ½ 2 ½ USA
Worcester, MA, USA

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *