Rory McIlroy beats Brooks Koepka to win PGA Tour Player of the Year award

0 comment

Rory McIlroy has beaten world number one Brooks Koepka to win the PGA Tour Player of the Year award.

It is the third time in his career that the Northern Ireland golfer has won the award.

The 30-year-old claimed the honour ahead of Koepka, who won the PGA Championship and finished second in two of the season’s three other majors.

McIlroy won the Tour Championship for a second time last month to secure the FedEx Cup title.

He had two other title wins during the season, with victories in The Players Championship and the Canadian Open.

“Rory’s season was a model of consistency punctuated by milestone victories and ultimately the FedExCup in Atlanta,” said PGA TOUR Commissioner Jay Monahan.

McIlroy opened the 2019 calendar year with top-six finishes in his first five competitions before winning The Players to claim his 15th career PGA Tour victory.

That saw the Holywood native join Tiger Woods and Henrik Stenson as only the third player to win The Players, a major, the FedExCup and a World Golf Championships event.

McIlroy’s win in Atlanta came after he suffered disappointment in The Open when he failed to make the cut at Royal Portrush by one shot following a disastrous opening round.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *